Ursula Ruckers spoken word poem for women

This woman.

This lunch and home,

mistake and love maker

double shift worker

sometimes warrior, sometimes weak.

This wife.

This single soldier

God-given, God fearing, God doubting

This, bearer of wisdom and fruit and pain

This once girl

Sometimes still saint, sinner, teacher, multi-tasker, friend,

this everyday wonder

This Woman

This Nation-builder

This Raiser of leaders, of losers, of babies, of boys who will become men

Girls who will become women

This Woman

Some call me mama, Hey mama

My eyes are a rainbow, I reflect the spectrum

I have seen much, My heart weighs heavy

Even with joy I feel so much

My hair is electric I am ablaze, I am the source

I know who I is

I IS

Leave a Reply

